Tuesday, October 6, 2015

2015 MLB Award Ballot

Voters shouldn't allow postseason performance to skew their voting for regular season awards. With the same caution we now present our 2015 MLB Award Faux ballots... No-one was hurt in the making of these choices. Please feel free to add your own perspective in our comments section or by hitting us up on social media.

AL Jackie Robinson Rookie of the Year Award
1. Carlos Correa, Astros
2. Francisco Lindor, Indians
3. Miguel Angel Sano, Twins

No time for lots of chatting today. The playoffs are starting this evening. I just want to get these picks on the record.

In addition, I would point out that the influx of talent at the shortstop position has been tremendous this year. Correa and Lindor may be the best shortstops in all of baseball at the moment, not just the best rookies. Other promising shortstops to debut this year include Addison Russell, Corey Seager, Trea Turner, and Jung-ho Kang. Correa, Lindor, Russell, and Seager are poised to be this generation's version of Arod, Jeter, Nomar, plus +1.

NL Jackie Robinson Rookie of the Year Award
1. Kris Bryant, Cubs
2. Noah Syndergaard, Mets
3. Jung-ho Kang, Pirates

You know who really fell off the radar? Joc Pederson looked like the front runner in June. By having one of the worst 2nd halves of any player, he's not even in the discussion. Matt Duffy of the Giants would have been 4th, if the ballot went that deep.

American League Cy Young Award
1. Dallas Keuchel, Astros
2. David Price, Tigers
3. Sonny Gray, A's
4. Wade Davis, Royals
5. Dellin Betances, Yankees

So far, the Astros are 2-for-2 in AL awards on this blog.

National League Cy Young Award
1. Clayton Kershaw, Dodgers
2. Jake Arrieta, Cubs
3. Zack Greinke, Dodgers
4. Max Scherzer, Nationals
5. Jacob deGrom, Mets

This will likely be the most debated of all the awards. Each of the top 3 has had a worthy season. It really depends how you want to look at it. In my opinion, Clayton Kershaw is the best pitcher in baseball. He had very bad luck in the first couple of months of the season, and yet his overall numbers are right there. If his luck had been average at the start of the year, there would be no question who deserves it.

American League Manager of the Year Award
1. Joe Girardi, Yankees
2. Jeff Banister, Rangers
3. Paul Molitor, Twins

National League Manager of the Year Award
1. Terry Collins, Mets
2. Joe Maddon, Cubs
3. Clint Hurdle, Pirates

This week's firing of 2014 NL Manager of the Year, Matt Williams, once again exemplifies how meaningless this award should be.

American League MVP Award
1. Josh Donaldson, Blue Jays
2. Mike Trout, Angels
3. Manny Machado, Orioles
4. Adrian Beltre, Rangers
5. Chris Davis, Orioles
6. Lorenzo Cain, Royals
7. Carlos Correa, Astros
8. Francisco Lindor, Indians
9. Dellin Betances, Yankees
10. Miguel Cabrera, Tigers

National League MVP Award
1. Bryce Harper, Nationals
2. Joey Votto, Reds
3. Paul Goldschmidt, Diamondbacks
4. Jake Arietta, Cubs
5. Clayton Kershaw, Dodgers
6. Zack Greinke, Dodgers
7. Andrew McCutchen, Pirates
8. Anthony Rizzo, Cubs
9. Buster Posey, Giants
10. Kris Bryant, Cubs

What do you think? Whom did we overlook (Kipnis or Pollock?) or overrate?

What would have been some of your choices?