Monday, December 22, 2014

Hall of Fame's Best Outsiders

We did this once in 2010 and again at this time last year. The point is to construct the best team of players who have been eligible for at least one Hall of Fame vote. In other words, guys who retired after 2009, like Pedro Martinez and Randy Johnson, are not eligible for this team. After we get through this year's vote, next year's club should be even better, adding at least Gary Sheffield, Nomar Garciaparra, and maybe even Brian Giles to the mix.

3rd Occasional Non Hall of Famers Team
Batting Order
Bobby Grich was a better defender
and had a higher OPS+ than Jeff Kent
1. Kenny Lofton, CF
2. Jeff Bagwell, 1b
3. Barry Bonds, LF
4. Mike Piazza, C
5. Larry Walker, RF
6. Bobby Grich, 2b
7. Dick Allen, 3b
8. Alan Trammell, SS

Bench: Bill Freehan, C
Bench: Edgar Martinez, DH
Bench: Tim Raines, LF
The Crime Dog is worthy
Bench: Jeff Kent, 2b
Bench: Lou Whitaker, 2b
Bench: Dale Murphy, CF/RF
Bench: Fred McGriff, 1b
Bench: Craig Biggio, 2b/CF/C
Bench: Reggie Smith, CF/RF

SP: Roger Clemens
SP: Curt Schilling
SP: Mike Mussina
SP: Kevin Brown

P: Luis Tiant
Mussina is a new edition this year
P: Rick Reuschel
P: Dave Stieb
P: Dan Quisenberry

Manager: Buck O'Neil

Honorable mention goes to Norm Cash, Don Mattingly, Minnie Minoso, David Cone, Bill Dahlen, Dwight Evans, Graig Nettles, Bo Jackson, Dolf Luque, and Frank Howard. Who else deserves consideration?

No comments:

Post a Comment